Beginner’s Guide To The 7 Chakras

Chakra Meditation

Chakra Meditation helps us to open the main chakras and to let energies flow better. We explain how the meditation works.

What is a chakra anyway?

Originally the term “chakra” comes from Sanskrit and means circle, wheel or vortex. There are a total of seven of these chakras (often erroneously called chakras), which have been called energy centers of the body in ancient Indian scriptures and run along the spine. According to this, “bad” energies can, for example, cause blockages in the individual chakras, which in turn can manifest themselves through physical symptoms such as racing heart or anxiety disorders.

What is Chakra Meditation?

At the end of the spine there is a kind of energy reservoir, the Kundalini. In ancient India it was often depicted in the form of a sleeping snake. With the help of chakra meditation, the kundalini is activated and, so to speak, winds up the back to open the individual chakras, to recognize and release blockages and to generally allow the life energy to flow better. If the Kundalini flows through a chakra, a sound is created – the Mantra. If the energy connection between all seven chakras succeeds, one speaks of “Samadhi” or a unity experience, which is supposed to enable an expanded state of consciousness.

Chakra meditation is also often associated with yoga – in fact there is the so-called Kundalini Yoga, which is supposed to explicitly affect the chakras. Breathing exercises are usually combined with certain positions of yoga in order to perceive and balance tensions more consciously.

As a rule, different breathing techniques are applied in Chakra Meditation with a focus on a specific chakra, working upwards on the chakras step by step (“Chakra Balancing”). This is intended to relax, improve inner balance and ensure that symptoms in our physical body caused by energy blockages subside. Including all chakras in the meditation is also important because they resonate with each other: If there is a problem in one chakra, this can also lead to disturbances in another.

Chakra Meditation: Instructions with all seven chakras at a glance

The seven chakras are usually differently developed from person to person, therefore there are also seven so-called basic types, to which different personality traits are assigned. In the instructions we explain what the seven chakras stand for and how they are activated.

For Chakra Meditation it is best to lie comfortably on your back and let your hands fall relaxed next to your body. While meditating, you concentrate on deep inhalation and exhalation into the abdomen. While inhaling, imagine that positive energy flows into the body and while exhaling, all muscles are consciously released. Between the individual breaths you take a short break, feeling deep into your body. Now all chakras are activated one after the other with the Chakra Meditation:

  • Root chakra (Muladhara Chakra)

    Location: at the lower end of the spine, the pelvic floor
    Color: Red
    Stands for: Connectedness and rootedness with life, stability and material security
    Effect: As the lowest chakra, the root chakra is the source of life energy, which grounds us and gives us stability. Physical exhaustion and weakness become apparent in this chakra.
    Meditation instructions: Imagine the root chakra as your energy source at the bottom of your pelvis, allowing its warm, red light to flow through the entire abdomen and warm this area.
  • Sacral Chakra (Svadisthana Chakra)

    Location: about three finger widths under the navel
    Color: Orange
    Stands for: creativity as well as creative thinking and acting, joy of life, sensuality and sexual energies
    Effect: The sacral chakra allows us to live out our creativity and lust for life. It is also considered the center of female energy. If we are constantly sad or suffer from frequent fatigue, this can be related to the sacral chakra.
    Meditation instructions: Concentrate on your abdomen below the navel and imagine the sacral chakra as an orange flower of light that slowly unfolds throughout your body, improving your mood and giving you new energy.
  • Navel Chakra (Manipura Chakra)

    Location: above the navel, on the so-called “solar plexus
    Color: Yellow
    Stands for: Assertiveness and willpower as well as self-confident appearance
    Effect: The third chakra serves as a central storage for the so-called prana, the life energy. Stress and inner tension are most likely to make themselves felt here.
    Meditation instructions: Imagine that a warm yellow sunbeam warms the area above your navel and spreads from there. The warm yellow solar plexus fills you with peace and quiet.
  • Heart Chakra (Anahata Chakra)

    Location: at heart level in the chest
    Color: Green
    Stands for: a warm, open, compassionate and tolerant nature
    Effect: Our heart chakra gives us our gentle characteristics – it gives us the ability to love, to give and accept security and to be compassionate towards others. If it is not in balance, this can lead to feelings of loneliness, sadness or even a depressive mood.
    Meditation instructions: Imagine the heart chakra as a lush light green spring meadow in your chest. Its soft light makes love and compassion blossom like flowers and flows from the chest through the whole body.
  • Throat Chakra (Vishudda Chakra)

    Location: Neck area
    Color: Light blue to turquoise
    Stands for: Music appreciation and all forms of communication, especially language
    Effect: With the throat chakra we perceive sounds and words and process any communication. Disturbances strengthen inhibitions and shyness as well as annoyance.
    Meditation instruction: The throat chakra can be visualized well as a smooth lake surface or as the sky. Imagine inhaling clear prana and it flows as a light blue ray through the throat and then into the rest of the body.
  • Forehead chakra (Ajna chakra)

    Location: as “third eye” between the eyebrows
    Color: dark blue
    Stands for: wisdom, fantasy, recognition of own goals
    Effect: The brow chakra helps us to better understand our own desires and goals, which in turn enables us to be more mindful and conscious with ourselves. If it is blocked, this can manifest itself in arrogance, excessive ambition and vanity.
    Meditation Instructions: Concentrate on the point between your eyebrows and tune into the brow chakra. Then imagine a velvety, dark night sky. The night transmits its peace and stillness to you and touches you like a cool wind that first flows through your head and then through the rest of your body.
  • Crown Chakra (Sahasrara Chakra)

    Location: at the highest point of the back of the head
    Color: Purple
    Stands for: faith and spirituality as well as pure consciousness
    Effect: The spirituality associated with the seventh chakra, i.e. the crown chakra, gives deep inner peace and can cause delusions of grandeur in case of disturbances.
    Meditation instructions: Imagine the crown chakra as a flower of light in crystal clear violet in your head. It spreads slowly and its healing light gives inner peace and serenity, which gradually spreads throughout your body.

If you do the chakra meditation regularly, it will be much easier to open all chakras. It is therefore worthwhile to keep at it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *